Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Reviewed: Dec 29, 2015
Property
Our favorite place on earth We have been to Roatan six or seven times and always stayed in one of three places right at the beach in West Bay Village. This is a newer place than the other two and is fantastic! It's large with a full kitchen and dining room. It's one house back from the main beach. The snorkeling is phenomenal; you can walk into the water and start seeing fish almost immediately. When you get further out, the coral and fish are so beautiful that we spend a lot of time in the water. The only issue we had and it wasn't with the house but with getting bit over and over. I'm not sure if it was sand fleas or mosquitoes, maybe both, but I was eaten up with them. They are virulent little suckers and make welts that itch like crazy. I say this only so you will take items with you to help with that. Despite the bites, we will very likely return to Roatan again next year. We were there in January and December this year and stayed at Satori House both times.
View Property: Satori Beach
Reviewed: Dec 29, 2015
Property
This vacation rental establishes my definition of paradise. The property was in excellent condition and included everything to make a wonderful week. Water sports equipment, tiki bar, enormous gas grill, and convent dock. Maintenance and security provided by two great guys. These guys were there to answer questions about where to find groceries, swim suits, good cafes, etc. The location of the Sunset house is on a great beach about half way between West End and West Bay. West Bay was an easy walk on the beach away. Both West End and West Bay were a $3 dollar water taxi ride away. The water taxi service was right to the Sunset House dock.
View Property: Sunset House
Reviewed: Dec 29, 2015
Property
Our favorite place on earth We have been to Roatan six or seven times and always stayed in one of three places right at the beach in West Bay Village. This is a newer place than the other two and is fantastic! It's large with a full kitchen and dining room. It's one house back from the main beach. The snorkeling is phenomenal; you can walk into the water and start seeing fish almost immediately. When you get further out, the coral and fish are so beautiful that we spend a lot of time in the water. The only issue we had and it wasn't with the house but with getting bit over and over. I'm not sure if it was sand fleas or mosquitoes, maybe both, but I was eaten up with them. They are virulent little suckers and make welts that itch like crazy. I say this only so you will take items with you to help with that. Despite the bites, we will very likely return to Roatan again next year. We were there in January and December this year and stayed at Satori House both times.
View Property: Satori Beach
Reviewed: Dec 28, 2015
Property
We hadn't stayed in a beach house before but Barefoot Dreams Upper has been lovely. I especially liked the roof top deck for sunbathing and the breeze on the porch. Only downside is that you can't see the sea from the deck. If the trees were trimmed it would be an amazing view.
View Property: Barefoot Dream Upper
Reviewed: Dec 17, 2015
Property
Great place just a few steps from beach Great place just off the beach but not too far as to be a problem going back to the room to pick something up you might have forgot. Semi-private with gated area entrance to the 6 or 7 houses that are on the property. The Studio is downstairs from the Monkey La La so expect some upstairs noise but its not too much. Room had fridge and kitchenette along with fresh water, beach towels, and satellite TV. Great little getaway for a couple looking to save a bit. Area provides beach chairs for all those on property and you ware within walking distance to snorkeling just off the beach and a number of restaurants along the mile or so beach. Only annoyance is the locals constant barrage of trying to sell shirts, massages, shells, trips etc. Most are OK but a few were a bit annoying.
View Property: Monkey La La Studio
Reviewed: Dec 17, 2015
Property
Great place just a few steps from beach Great place just off the beach but not too far as to be a problem going back to the room to pick something up you might have forgot. Semi-private with gated area entrance to the 6 or 7 houses that are on the property. The Studio is downstairs from the Monkey La La so expect some upstairs noise but its not too much. Room had fridge and kitchenette along with fresh water, beach towels, and satellite TV. Great little getaway for a couple looking to save a bit. Area provides beach chairs for all those on property and you ware within walking distance to snorkeling just off the beach and a number of restaurants along the mile or so beach. Only annoyance is the locals constant barrage of trying to sell shirts, massages, shells, trips etc. Most are OK but a few were a bit annoying.
View Property: Monkey La La Studio
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2015
Property
Nice little place for 2 This apartment is not large or fancy. It is small but has a full kitchen, tv, dining table and a small porch. It's perfect for 2 people if you don't spend much time inside. We dive and are very active so the apartment doesn't need to be "fancy" for us. We liked it very much. The only complaint we have is that the living room furniture is very uncomfortable and dated. All the more reason to hang on the beach!
View Property: St. Mac`s Garden Apartment
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2015
Property
This is a beautiful 2 bed 2 bath apartment. It's well equipped, the bathrooms have just been remodeled, it has a lovely covered front porch and is only steps to the beach.
View Property: Barefoot Dream Beach
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2015
Property
Nice little place for 2 This apartment is not large or fancy. It is small but has a full kitchen, tv, dining table and a small porch. It's perfect for 2 people if you don't spend much time inside. We dive and are very active so the apartment doesn't need to be "fancy" for us. We liked it very much. The only complaint we have is that the living room furniture is very uncomfortable and dated. All the more reason to hang on the beach!
View Property: St. Mac`s Garden Apartment
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2015
Property
This is a beautiful 2 bed 2 bath apartment. It's well equipped, the bathrooms have just been remodeled, it has a lovely covered front porch and is only steps to the beach.
View Property: Barefoot Dream Beach
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan was great to work with and our driver that picked us up at the airport was great.
Property
Perfect Location! My husband and I went to Roatan for a "date-cation" and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Monkey La La was cute and clean. I loved the front porch for breakfast and walking the sandy path to the beach. We would definitely stay here again!
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2015
Property
Cabana Lana - Very Nice We have been to Roatan several times but usually stay down the beach in West Bay. This time we split our trip between two accommodations. We spent the first 4 nights at Cabana Lana (lower). This cabana is located on right on the beach with lovely views. It is very nicely appointed with everything you need. Lana met us there and let us in. She even unpacked our groceries for us!! There is even a dive shop right downstairs that gives you a 10% discount if you are staying at Cabana Lana!
View Property: Cabana Lana Beach
Reviewed: Dec 10, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan was great to work with and our driver that picked us up at the airport was great.
Property
Perfect Location! My husband and I went to Roatan for a "date-cation" and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Monkey La La was cute and clean. I loved the front porch for breakfast and walking the sandy path to the beach. We would definitely stay here again!
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: Nov 25, 2015
Property Manager
My family and I had never been to Roatan, Honduras, so I did some searching and found: http://www.islandhouseroatan.com/. So glad we did, Ruth and Brad are wonderful people that work very hard to be sure you have a perfect trip. They are sure to find the perfect house for your vacation. Ruth arranged a driver to pick us up from the airport; he also took us wherever we wanted to go. Cannot thank them enough for the perfect vacation. BJ Hendrix and Family
Property
We stayed in a beautiful home where every bedroom had a perfect ocean view, you could watch the sun rise lying in your bed every morning (we did for a week), and it was awesome. A Chef cooked us a meal in the home we were staying the very night, it was perfect.
View Property: Casa Cascada
Reviewed: Nov 23, 2015
Property
Most importantly, the kitchen in the main house was immaculate. All utensils were clean and in good condition. All appliances appeared to be new or recently upgraded. Having the bottles filtered water was a huge benefit due to the large group of people we had (13), there were plenty of towels and a washer/dryer in the house. The house is a solidly built house with beautifully carved wooden doors. very secure in every entry. Heating and AC kept us all at a comfortable climate. The owners are very thoughtful by providing water basins at the door to reduce the amount of sand tracked into the house. There are hammocks on every porch area, including at the outside bar/grill area and on the diving dock. The kayaks were in great condition as were the paddle boards. Expect to bring or rent your own snorkeling equipment. It was nice to have an onsite caretakers to rake the beach and straighten up all the equipment for us at the end of each day. We woke up to find everything in order, just as we found it the first day. (Thanks to Johnny for cutting us fresh coconuts too). If you have a large group (especially with teens) expect to refresh the WiFi (house comes with 2.5GB). It's best to hide the password from your kids if you can. The location was convenient, half way between West End and West Bay with water taxis available during daylight hours to take you to either location quickly. Although you can walk to West End, I would not recommend making that trip after the sun goes down, the threat of sea urchins is a problem walking in the water, which leaves a little rock climbing as the alternative. If I return for any length of time, I will consider renting a car, our largest expense was from wanting to go somewhere other than West Bay and West End and the road down to the house from the main road is not easily negotiated, especially at night. At no fault of the rental, the sandflies were pretty bad, do your homework so you can prevent bites as soon as you arrive. The guest house was also in good condition, not as fancy as the main house but was still a very comfortable stay for the five 20 year olds using that space.
View Property: Sunset House
Reviewed: Oct 30, 2015
Property Manager
The staff is amazing and extrememly helpful. It was truly a perfect vacation. They set up our transportation to/from the airport, recommended excursions that we did and were fantastic.
Property
The place is well maintained and spacious. It was truly a perfect vacation. We will definitely stay here again if visiting Roatan and recommend here for any of our friends as well. Its right on the beach with our own private area where no one else can use -- truly great! Bars and restaurants close by and the sand/water is breathtakingly gorgeous there!
View Property: St. Mac`s Beachfront Apartment
Reviewed: Oct 30, 2015
Property Manager
The staff is amazing and extrememly helpful. It was truly a perfect vacation. They set up our transportation to/from the airport, recommended excursions that we did and were fantastic.
Property
The place is well maintained and spacious. It was truly a perfect vacation. We will definitely stay here again if visiting Roatan and recommend here for any of our friends as well. Its right on the beach with our own private area where no one else can use -- truly great! Bars and restaurants close by and the sand/water is breathtakingly gorgeous there!
View Property: St. Mac`s Beachfront Apartment
Reviewed: Sep 25, 2015
Property Manager
They greet you really well and everyone is really helpful.
Property
Amazing view! Prime location! Spacious! Very nice! We traveled with our brother and sister in law an their kids and my wife and our kids. Three rooms all spacious. Beautiful open kitchen. large living room and dining room. Amazing view from the balcony. My only comment would be the AC sometimes had trouble getting to a cool temp. Overall it was great!
View Property: Varadero
Reviewed: Sep 15, 2015
Property Manager
Ruth, Brad and Ryan do a great job managing their properties--we have stayed at quite a few different places that they have in the area and they are all good.
Property
Great spot on West Bay Beach We really enjoyed our time in this very large 3 bedroom 3 bath condo. When they say steps to the beach--they mean it. The beach is directly in front of the condo. There are lots of options for restaurants and activities or simply cooking at home. We have been coming to the West Bay Beach area since 1999. We have seen lots of changes, but we have enjoyed coming back. We rented it through Island House.
View Property: Coral Sands #1
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2015
Property
The "upper" apartment of the Monkey Lala House is everything that we could have wanted in a vacation beach house! The decor is very tasteful and relaxing (rather than some "beach" themed decor that can be absolutely dreadful in some beach houses!!). The king bed is so comfortable, the AC in the bedroom works great, great bathroom. Combine the ceiling fans all over the house, being upstairs on the second level, and opening the beautiful barn doors to the porch and you are sure to catch a good breeze. The house is in a excellent location (within a short walking distance to the beach, stores, a great spa, and excellent restaurants) and don't let this house not being on the beachfront keep you from staying there. It's still so close that you can skip back to the house from the beach whenever you'd like. Honestly though, my favorite part about this house was pleasant little surprises of everything we wanted or needed already being there - water bottles, ice packs, matches, books, games, beach towels, tupperware, mosquito repelling incense, even cooking spices! If you plan on doing any cooking, which we did, the kitchen is well stocked with any item you might need, including good knives, serving platters, pitchers, everything. Thank you for a great stay where I didn't have to worry about anything!
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2015
Property
The "upper" apartment of the Monkey Lala House is everything that we could have wanted in a vacation beach house! The decor is very tasteful and relaxing (rather than some "beach" themed decor that can be absolutely dreadful in some beach houses!!). The king bed is so comfortable, the AC in the bedroom works great, great bathroom. Combine the ceiling fans all over the house, being upstairs on the second level, and opening the beautiful barn doors to the porch and you are sure to catch a good breeze. The house is in a excellent location (within a short walking distance to the beach, stores, a great spa, and excellent restaurants) and don't let this house not being on the beachfront keep you from staying there. It's still so close that you can skip back to the house from the beach whenever you'd like. Honestly though, my favorite part about this house was pleasant little surprises of everything we wanted or needed already being there - water bottles, ice packs, matches, books, games, beach towels, tupperware, mosquito repelling incense, even cooking spices! If you plan on doing any cooking, which we did, the kitchen is well stocked with any item you might need, including good knives, serving platters, pitchers, everything. Thank you for a great stay where I didn't have to worry about anything!
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: Aug 10, 2015
Property Manager
Rental office was very helpful and had immediate response to any inquiries.
Property
Beautiful family house! Nice, spacious, comfortable and fully equipped house. Very nice views, location. Good maintenance.
View Property: Gecko Loco
Reviewed: Jul 29, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan checked us in and Ruth was waiting for us at the house. Never have I checked into a vacation rental where the manager was personally on site to welcome us. The property managers were quick to respond to everything we needed.
Property
Wonderful Beach-Front West Bay Vacation My parents, my 11-year-old son, and I stayed at Casa Martin for a week in July 2015. This was our first trip to Roatan, and none of us wanted to leave. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport and took us by the grocery store so we could pick up supplies. We ended up getting more than we needed. There are a lot of vendors selling food on the beach, and it was fun to try those things (donuts, empanadas, etc) for breakfast and lunch. Additionally there were a few supplies waiting for us in the fridge, which was an unexpected surprise. Casa Martin is an amazingly beautiful home within just a few steps of the ocean. It was clean and well-appointed. Yes, there was the occasional cockroach and tiny ants here and there, but this is a third world country! I felt spoiled to have hot water and air conditioning. :) The power went out a couple times (these were planned outages....I recommend checking the Roatan Electric Company website or facebook page to see when the planned outages are so that you aren't surprised) for 2-3 hours but other than delaying our morning cup of coffee, it wasn't a big deal. I slept in the queen bed that wasn't the master....the mattress was very comfortable and I usually hate sleeping in any bed than my own. I didn't miss my own bed at all! The sheets where high quality as well. All towels, even beach towels, were provided. But, we didn't need much because the house is so well-stocked. This location is absolutely perfect on West Bay. I would definitely stay here again....next time might try a different property just to try something new, but you can't beat the beachfront view at Casa Martin.
View Property: Casa Martin
Reviewed: Jul 29, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan checked us in and Ruth was waiting for us at the house. Never have I checked into a vacation rental where the manager was personally on site to welcome us. The property managers were quick to respond to everything we needed.
Property
Wonderful Beach-Front West Bay Vacation My parents, my 11-year-old son, and I stayed at Casa Martin for a week in July 2015. This was our first trip to Roatan, and none of us wanted to leave. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport and took us by the grocery store so we could pick up supplies. We ended up getting more than we needed. There are a lot of vendors selling food on the beach, and it was fun to try those things (donuts, empanadas, etc) for breakfast and lunch. Additionally there were a few supplies waiting for us in the fridge, which was an unexpected surprise. Casa Martin is an amazingly beautiful home within just a few steps of the ocean. It was clean and well-appointed. Yes, there was the occasional cockroach and tiny ants here and there, but this is a third world country! I felt spoiled to have hot water and air conditioning. :) The power went out a couple times (these were planned outages....I recommend checking the Roatan Electric Company website or facebook page to see when the planned outages are so that you aren't surprised) for 2-3 hours but other than delaying our morning cup of coffee, it wasn't a big deal. I slept in the queen bed that wasn't the master....the mattress was very comfortable and I usually hate sleeping in any bed than my own. I didn't miss my own bed at all! The sheets where high quality as well. All towels, even beach towels, were provided. But, we didn't need much because the house is so well-stocked. This location is absolutely perfect on West Bay. I would definitely stay here again....next time might try a different property just to try something new, but you can't beat the beachfront view at Casa Martin.
View Property: Casa Martin
Reviewed: Jul 19, 2015
Property Manager
Ruth and Ryan at island rentals were more than accommodating, even put us up for the day when we had a late flight.
Property
Peaceful beach with an attitude Nothing more stressless than setting on your front porch or swinging in the hammock reading your favorite book and watching the world go by. Hearing the " Banana doughnut" man singing his song and selling his goods, buying a fresh hot empanada in the morning for breakfast or going fishing with Captain Brooks ( and yes, the big one got away after peeling off about 500 yards of line) This is a great location for folks who want to get away and be right there! As always,
View Property: Casa Martin