Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Reviewed: Nov 25, 2015
Property Manager
My family and I had never been to Roatan, Honduras, so I did some searching and found: http://www.islandhouseroatan.com/. So glad we did, Ruth and Brad are wonderful people that work very hard to be sure you have a perfect trip. They are sure to find the perfect house for your vacation. Ruth arranged a driver to pick us up from the airport; he also took us wherever we wanted to go. Cannot thank them enough for the perfect vacation. BJ Hendrix and Family
Property
We stayed in a beautiful home where every bedroom had a perfect ocean view, you could watch the sun rise lying in your bed every morning (we did for a week), and it was awesome. A Chef cooked us a meal in the home we were staying the very night, it was perfect.
View Property: Casa Cascada
Reviewed: Nov 23, 2015
Property
Most importantly, the kitchen in the main house was immaculate. All utensils were clean and in good condition. All appliances appeared to be new or recently upgraded. Having the bottles filtered water was a huge benefit due to the large group of people we had (13), there were plenty of towels and a washer/dryer in the house. The house is a solidly built house with beautifully carved wooden doors. very secure in every entry. Heating and AC kept us all at a comfortable climate. The owners are very thoughtful by providing water basins at the door to reduce the amount of sand tracked into the house. There are hammocks on every porch area, including at the outside bar/grill area and on the diving dock. The kayaks were in great condition as were the paddle boards. Expect to bring or rent your own snorkeling equipment. It was nice to have an onsite caretakers to rake the beach and straighten up all the equipment for us at the end of each day. We woke up to find everything in order, just as we found it the first day. (Thanks to Johnny for cutting us fresh coconuts too). If you have a large group (especially with teens) expect to refresh the WiFi (house comes with 2.5GB). It's best to hide the password from your kids if you can. The location was convenient, half way between West End and West Bay with water taxis available during daylight hours to take you to either location quickly. Although you can walk to West End, I would not recommend making that trip after the sun goes down, the threat of sea urchins is a problem walking in the water, which leaves a little rock climbing as the alternative. If I return for any length of time, I will consider renting a car, our largest expense was from wanting to go somewhere other than West Bay and West End and the road down to the house from the main road is not easily negotiated, especially at night. At no fault of the rental, the sandflies were pretty bad, do your homework so you can prevent bites as soon as you arrive. The guest house was also in good condition, not as fancy as the main house but was still a very comfortable stay for the five 20 year olds using that space.
View Property: Sunset House
Reviewed: Oct 30, 2015
Property Manager
The staff is amazing and extrememly helpful. It was truly a perfect vacation. They set up our transportation to/from the airport, recommended excursions that we did and were fantastic.
Property
The place is well maintained and spacious. It was truly a perfect vacation. We will definitely stay here again if visiting Roatan and recommend here for any of our friends as well. Its right on the beach with our own private area where no one else can use -- truly great! Bars and restaurants close by and the sand/water is breathtakingly gorgeous there!
View Property: St. Mac`s Beachfront Apartment
Reviewed: Oct 30, 2015
Property Manager
The staff is amazing and extrememly helpful. It was truly a perfect vacation. They set up our transportation to/from the airport, recommended excursions that we did and were fantastic.
Property
The place is well maintained and spacious. It was truly a perfect vacation. We will definitely stay here again if visiting Roatan and recommend here for any of our friends as well. Its right on the beach with our own private area where no one else can use -- truly great! Bars and restaurants close by and the sand/water is breathtakingly gorgeous there!
View Property: St. Mac`s Beachfront Apartment
Reviewed: Sep 25, 2015
Property Manager
They greet you really well and everyone is really helpful.
Property
Amazing view! Prime location! Spacious! Very nice! We traveled with our brother and sister in law an their kids and my wife and our kids. Three rooms all spacious. Beautiful open kitchen. large living room and dining room. Amazing view from the balcony. My only comment would be the AC sometimes had trouble getting to a cool temp. Overall it was great!
View Property: Varadero
Reviewed: Sep 15, 2015
Property Manager
Ruth, Brad and Ryan do a great job managing their properties--we have stayed at quite a few different places that they have in the area and they are all good.
Property
Great spot on West Bay Beach We really enjoyed our time in this very large 3 bedroom 3 bath condo. When they say steps to the beach--they mean it. The beach is directly in front of the condo. There are lots of options for restaurants and activities or simply cooking at home. We have been coming to the West Bay Beach area since 1999. We have seen lots of changes, but we have enjoyed coming back. We rented it through Island House.
View Property: Coral Sands #1
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2015
Property
The "upper" apartment of the Monkey Lala House is everything that we could have wanted in a vacation beach house! The decor is very tasteful and relaxing (rather than some "beach" themed decor that can be absolutely dreadful in some beach houses!!). The king bed is so comfortable, the AC in the bedroom works great, great bathroom. Combine the ceiling fans all over the house, being upstairs on the second level, and opening the beautiful barn doors to the porch and you are sure to catch a good breeze. The house is in a excellent location (within a short walking distance to the beach, stores, a great spa, and excellent restaurants) and don't let this house not being on the beachfront keep you from staying there. It's still so close that you can skip back to the house from the beach whenever you'd like. Honestly though, my favorite part about this house was pleasant little surprises of everything we wanted or needed already being there - water bottles, ice packs, matches, books, games, beach towels, tupperware, mosquito repelling incense, even cooking spices! If you plan on doing any cooking, which we did, the kitchen is well stocked with any item you might need, including good knives, serving platters, pitchers, everything. Thank you for a great stay where I didn't have to worry about anything!
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2015
Property
The "upper" apartment of the Monkey Lala House is everything that we could have wanted in a vacation beach house! The decor is very tasteful and relaxing (rather than some "beach" themed decor that can be absolutely dreadful in some beach houses!!). The king bed is so comfortable, the AC in the bedroom works great, great bathroom. Combine the ceiling fans all over the house, being upstairs on the second level, and opening the beautiful barn doors to the porch and you are sure to catch a good breeze. The house is in a excellent location (within a short walking distance to the beach, stores, a great spa, and excellent restaurants) and don't let this house not being on the beachfront keep you from staying there. It's still so close that you can skip back to the house from the beach whenever you'd like. Honestly though, my favorite part about this house was pleasant little surprises of everything we wanted or needed already being there - water bottles, ice packs, matches, books, games, beach towels, tupperware, mosquito repelling incense, even cooking spices! If you plan on doing any cooking, which we did, the kitchen is well stocked with any item you might need, including good knives, serving platters, pitchers, everything. Thank you for a great stay where I didn't have to worry about anything!
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: Aug 10, 2015
Property Manager
Rental office was very helpful and had immediate response to any inquiries.
Property
Beautiful family house! Nice, spacious, comfortable and fully equipped house. Very nice views, location. Good maintenance.
View Property: Gecko Loco
Reviewed: Jul 29, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan checked us in and Ruth was waiting for us at the house. Never have I checked into a vacation rental where the manager was personally on site to welcome us. The property managers were quick to respond to everything we needed.
Property
Wonderful Beach-Front West Bay Vacation My parents, my 11-year-old son, and I stayed at Casa Martin for a week in July 2015. This was our first trip to Roatan, and none of us wanted to leave. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport and took us by the grocery store so we could pick up supplies. We ended up getting more than we needed. There are a lot of vendors selling food on the beach, and it was fun to try those things (donuts, empanadas, etc) for breakfast and lunch. Additionally there were a few supplies waiting for us in the fridge, which was an unexpected surprise. Casa Martin is an amazingly beautiful home within just a few steps of the ocean. It was clean and well-appointed. Yes, there was the occasional cockroach and tiny ants here and there, but this is a third world country! I felt spoiled to have hot water and air conditioning. :) The power went out a couple times (these were planned outages....I recommend checking the Roatan Electric Company website or facebook page to see when the planned outages are so that you aren't surprised) for 2-3 hours but other than delaying our morning cup of coffee, it wasn't a big deal. I slept in the queen bed that wasn't the master....the mattress was very comfortable and I usually hate sleeping in any bed than my own. I didn't miss my own bed at all! The sheets where high quality as well. All towels, even beach towels, were provided. But, we didn't need much because the house is so well-stocked. This location is absolutely perfect on West Bay. I would definitely stay here again....next time might try a different property just to try something new, but you can't beat the beachfront view at Casa Martin.
View Property: Casa Martin
Reviewed: Jul 29, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan checked us in and Ruth was waiting for us at the house. Never have I checked into a vacation rental where the manager was personally on site to welcome us. The property managers were quick to respond to everything we needed.
Property
Wonderful Beach-Front West Bay Vacation My parents, my 11-year-old son, and I stayed at Casa Martin for a week in July 2015. This was our first trip to Roatan, and none of us wanted to leave. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport and took us by the grocery store so we could pick up supplies. We ended up getting more than we needed. There are a lot of vendors selling food on the beach, and it was fun to try those things (donuts, empanadas, etc) for breakfast and lunch. Additionally there were a few supplies waiting for us in the fridge, which was an unexpected surprise. Casa Martin is an amazingly beautiful home within just a few steps of the ocean. It was clean and well-appointed. Yes, there was the occasional cockroach and tiny ants here and there, but this is a third world country! I felt spoiled to have hot water and air conditioning. :) The power went out a couple times (these were planned outages....I recommend checking the Roatan Electric Company website or facebook page to see when the planned outages are so that you aren't surprised) for 2-3 hours but other than delaying our morning cup of coffee, it wasn't a big deal. I slept in the queen bed that wasn't the master....the mattress was very comfortable and I usually hate sleeping in any bed than my own. I didn't miss my own bed at all! The sheets where high quality as well. All towels, even beach towels, were provided. But, we didn't need much because the house is so well-stocked. This location is absolutely perfect on West Bay. I would definitely stay here again....next time might try a different property just to try something new, but you can't beat the beachfront view at Casa Martin.
View Property: Casa Martin
Reviewed: Jul 19, 2015
Property Manager
Ruth and Ryan at island rentals were more than accommodating, even put us up for the day when we had a late flight.
Property
Peaceful beach with an attitude Nothing more stressless than setting on your front porch or swinging in the hammock reading your favorite book and watching the world go by. Hearing the " Banana doughnut" man singing his song and selling his goods, buying a fresh hot empanada in the morning for breakfast or going fishing with Captain Brooks ( and yes, the big one got away after peeling off about 500 yards of line) This is a great location for folks who want to get away and be right there! As always,
View Property: Casa Martin
Reviewed: Jul 19, 2015
Property Manager
Ruth and Ryan at island rentals were more than accommodating, even put us up for the day when we had a late flight.
Property
Peaceful beach with an attitude Nothing more stressless than setting on your front porch or swinging in the hammock reading your favorite book and watching the world go by. Hearing the " Banana doughnut" man singing his song and selling his goods, buying a fresh hot empanada in the morning for breakfast or going fishing with Captain Brooks ( and yes, the big one got away after peeling off about 500 yards of line) This is a great location for folks who want to get away and be right there! As always,
View Property: Casa Martin
Reviewed: Jun 24, 2015
Property Manager
Everyone who worked at the property management was amazing and helped with anything we needed. Thank you guys for a wonderful time. You made it so easy and comfortable!
Property
Everyone stops and stares! I'm telling you the truth. Everyone who walks down the beach stops and looks at this house! They are thinking, "Why didn't we know about this place?" All I can say is I'm glad I found it on tripadvisor! From the moment we arrived at the airport they had someone to help us with our bags, the driver Marty was amazing and stopped at the grocery store on the way for us. What can I say about the house? All you have to do is look at the pictures. The view is amazing! We had a 2 year old, a 3 year old and a 5 year old, the porch out front is open railing. It makes for a better view, but I was a little nervous with the kids. They did fine, though. If we ever go back which I hope we do, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. This house is a quiet, beautiful sanctuary on West Bay. So different from all the other condos and beach cabins. This is a true beach house. Nothing to compare to it really.
View Property: St. Mac`s Upper Level
Reviewed: Jun 24, 2015
Property Manager
Ruth and Brad do a great job managing this property. They're very communicative throughout the entire rental process and check-in is a breeze. Their office is close by and there's always someone available if you need something during your stay.
Property
Another Great Stay at Ocho Palmas This is the second time we've rented Ocho Palmas and it was just as awesome and relaxing this time as it was the first. I can't think of much to say that hasn't been said already. The previous reviews, including mine, speak for themselves and the pictures of this house really don't do it justice. You have to see it to believe it. I heard from several people that it's one of the nicest homes on the island. You will not be disappointed.
View Property: Ocho Palmas
Reviewed: Jun 24, 2015
Property Manager
Everyone who worked at the property management was amazing and helped with anything we needed. Thank you guys for a wonderful time. You made it so easy and comfortable!
Property
Everyone stops and stares! I'm telling you the truth. Everyone who walks down the beach stops and looks at this house! They are thinking, "Why didn't we know about this place?" All I can say is I'm glad I found it on tripadvisor! From the moment we arrived at the airport they had someone to help us with our bags, the driver Marty was amazing and stopped at the grocery store on the way for us. What can I say about the house? All you have to do is look at the pictures. The view is amazing! We had a 2 year old, a 3 year old and a 5 year old, the porch out front is open railing. It makes for a better view, but I was a little nervous with the kids. They did fine, though. If we ever go back which I hope we do, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. This house is a quiet, beautiful sanctuary on West Bay. So different from all the other condos and beach cabins. This is a true beach house. Nothing to compare to it really.
View Property: St. Mac`s Upper Level
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan mi concierge es muy atento y simptico me ayudo mucho, yo tuve una gran experiencia con todos ellos y los recuerdo con mucho cario, definitivamente espero volver pronto. Gracias por todas sus atenciones.
Property
Una de las mejores vacaiones de mi vida. Hola, yo estuve hospedada en Monkey Lala Upper, es una casa adorable, cmoda y muy linda, tiene todas las comodidades para sentirte en casa, la ubicacin es excelente a unos pasos de la playa, toda la gente es muy amable y atenta, Dolores la camarista es muy amable.
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Property Manager
Ryan mi concierge es muy atento y simptico me ayudo mucho, yo tuve una gran experiencia con todos ellos y los recuerdo con mucho cario, definitivamente espero volver pronto. Gracias por todas sus atenciones.
Property
Una de las mejores vacaiones de mi vida. Hola, yo estuve hospedada en Monkey Lala Upper, es una casa adorable, cmoda y muy linda, tiene todas las comodidades para sentirte en casa, la ubicacin es excelente a unos pasos de la playa, toda la gente es muy amable y atenta, Dolores la camarista es muy amable.
View Property: Monkey La La Upper
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Property Manager
The people that are in charge of this house are very attentive, helpful, and were very good at recommending things and places as this was our first time to Roatan.
Property
Beautiful beach house, excellent location We LOVED the Tortuga House, it was everything and more than what we expected. We stayed here with another couple, and both had beautiful rooms and ensuites. The location is fantastic, and the village of homes is very quaint and beautiful. The beautiful beach is right there!There is security and it is gated. Would we return - absolutely! I would recommend this house to anybody, it was a fantastic holiday, and we would return right here the next time we come to Roatan.
View Property: Casa Tortuga
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Property
I LOVED our stay! Gecko Loco is a beautiful home and I truly believe it has the best view on the island! We were in walking distance from west bay (#1 beach on roatan) but we still rented vehicles in order to get around the island. We found short cuts to get to the beach by the way instead of staying on the main road. Either way it was an incredible experiance. The home was more than what we expected, and it had everything you could imagine as if you were in your own home when it comes to supplies. From arrival we felt welcomed.
View Property: Gecko Loco
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Property Manager
The service we received was over the top. Again as being a veteran of home rentals the management staff was so helpful to all our needs. Minor and I mean very minor issues were dealt with ASAP.
Property
Number 1 on My List This place was a fantastic place. It was more like someone's home not a rental. Of all the home rentals that I have stayed at this one rate's number 1 for me. I could go on but it's best you visit it yourself. It has everything a vacationer would want and more. Hold on, that is not even the best part. If your going to Roatan this is the place to stay.
View Property: Ocho Palmas
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Property
St Mac's upper Another great stay at St Mac's upper. I highly recommend for a larger group since it has 3 bedrooms. The front deck is fantastic and the kitchen is very nice. Bedrooms large. Overall I think it's one of the best on West Bay.
View Property: St. Mac`s Upper Level
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Property
St Mac's upper Another great stay at St Mac's upper. I highly recommend for a larger group since it has 3 bedrooms. The front deck is fantastic and the kitchen is very nice. Bedrooms large. Overall I think it's one of the best on West Bay.
View Property: St. Mac`s Upper Level
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Property Manager
Ruth took wonderful care of us during our stay and directed us to some lovely beaches and great local restaurants!
Property
Wonderful Vacation Home in Paradise We stayed at the Pelican House for 2 weeks in April and were thrilled with our stay. The house is beautiful. The views are breathtaking! We hope to return to Roatan and will be staying at the Pelican House again!
View Property: Pelican House
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Property
Amazing home, beautifully furnished, great set up, stunning views and a porch you won't want to leave. This was our 5th trip to Roatan, we have stayed in Sandy Bay, West End and West Bay. This is the first time we stayed at Casa Martin and we loved everything about it. The home is beautifully furnished and has a great layout 3 bedrooms 3 full baths. It is very spacious and the main living area is open concept. The outdoor shower is great for rinsing off after a swim or snorkeling. The kitchen is spacious enough for several people to cook a meal. The only thing lacking is no dishwasher. If you have a big crowd, having one certainly would allow you more time to play. The outside patio is awesome . It has amazing views and just enough privacy to make it perfect. We will definitely be back to rent this home again.
View Property: Casa Martin